h1

God’s mercy ….

26 September 2006

A Testimony of God’s Mercy & Protection

 

“I will sing praises unto Thee .. for Thy mercy is great above the heavens” Psalm 108:3b-4a

 

Last Saturday, after a fruitful meeting of the Beulah Technical Committee with our architect, Mr Heng Twa Kiat, and the newly appointed structural engineer, Mr Koh Bock Cheng, everyone went over to Beulah House to inspect the structural condition of the front building.

 

As one of the areas that was discussed was the soundness of the roof trusses, the architect and engineer decided to climb up the stairs which leads to a hole in the ceiling of the 2nd storey to inspect that area. Shortly after that, I also climbed up the stairs, and went up the hole in the ceiling.

 

I was trying to take a closer look at the condition of the roof trusses, but alas I think I took a wrong step, and suddenly it all happened so fast.  I felt the ground below me gave way, and I crashed to the floor of the second storey. 

 

I did not have any time to respond as it was totally unexpected.  I was in a daze, and I heard in the commotion that ensued that someone suggested to bring me to a chair.  I felt strong hands held me up, and helped me to a chair.  My heart was beating very fast, and my mind was a blur, and I was trying to catch my breath and I felt blood draining from my head.  And as I was seated on the chair, I saw some blood on my left hand, and there was something else. Something white protruding out of my left ring finger.  It looked like some bone.  And that finger was swollen, quite grotesquely deformed, and bleeding from the gaping wound.  Someone suggested to clean the wound, and the next moment, some water was poured over the open wound on my finger.  I was expecting a sharp smarting pain, but strangely I felt no pain, and was grateful for that quick action from a brother. At the same time Pastor Charles whipped out his handkerchief and wrapped my bleeding finger and held it up.  I heard someone asking Dn John Ching to quickly drive the car round to send me to the hospital. In a few moments, i was helped down the stairs by Pastor Charles & Elder Khoo. I was worried for Elder Khoo whether it would be too strenuous for him, and as I was helped down the stairs, I had this dreaded fleeting vision that if I missed a step, all 3 of us could end up in a heap at the bottom of the long flight of curved stairs.  Then it would all three of us needing treatment.  I must admit I did not have a lot of faith in Elder Khoo. I’m sorry. I didn’t know how we got down, as I was wholly supported by the 2 slender but strong men, although they looked more frail than I.

 

In John’s car, I was comforted by Elder Khoo who was by my side, and his reassuring presence brought me much calm and peace.  I knew that God was with me.  I instructed John to send me to Raffles Hospital, as my company’s employee medical insurance is covered by the Raffles Medical group. The Accident & Emergency department was thankfully not crowded, and I received immediate excellent medical treatment, while Pastor Charles & Elder Khoo kept praying for me outside and updated the brethren of my condition.  I was sad because it happened on my ring finger, and my gold wedding band which had accompanied me through 16 years of my life had to be cut before they could properly clean the wound.  I was sent for an X-ray of the finger, and the surgeon confirmed that the finger bones were dislocated, but not fractured.  The white stuff that was protruding was a ruptured ligament.  A simple operation under local anaesthesia was arranged and underway by 7pm.  Under some sedation, I lost consciousness and awoke around 8pm hearing the soothing and slightly triumphant voice of my surgeon declaring the operation a success.  And I was discharged from the hospital before 9pm.  Wasn’t that amazingly fast?  and to think i was hoping to rest in the plush luxurious “five-star hotel-like” room for the night.    Banish that thought!

 

I think it was amazing that despite a fall from a great height, I did not sustain any more serious injury, apart from some abrasions and bruises on my arms and body.  I thank God that I did not fall onto something that was sharp on my way down, otherwise I could not imagine the consequences.  Truly it is of the Lord’s mercies that I am not consumed, because His compassions fail not, they are new every morning, great is Thy faithfulness – Lamentations 3:23. 

 

“The Lord is merciful and gracious, slow to anger, and plenteous in mercy” Ps 103:8. That I can stand here in good health is the Lord’s mercy.  How else could i have escaped from serious injury except by the mercy of God.  It was as if God sent an angel to hold me up and “gave me a soft landing”, to borrow the words of Dn Victor Loo.  I later heard about another brother many years ago who sustained serious brain injuries and was in a coma after a similar fall.  I read a few days later in the papers about the fatal fall of a construction worker from a similar height.  Indeed our life is so frail and fragile – so handle it with a prayer to God. 

 

I thank and praise God for your prayers, many of you through sms/phone calls/emails have expressed your concern for me.  I am truly thankful and grateful.  i would like to specially thank Pastor Charles, Elder Khoo, Dn John Ching and many others from the Beulah technical committee whose quick thinking and action in cleaning and bandaging my broken finger, and sending me quickly to the hospital helped ensure i had early medical attention and surgery.  With God’s help, I’m pleased to report that i’m recovering well. 

 

I had a follow-up appointment with the surgeon Dr Lim Lian Arn this morning. The X-ray showed that the dislocated bones on my 4th finger (left hand) were nicely in place.  He explained that a torn ligament and a small broken bone between the finger bones were sewn back during the operation.  The dressing was replaced, and I could see the wound was neatly stitched, though 

still a  little raw and painful.  A metal splint will hold the finger in place for a few weeks until the wound has healed completely.  I will also need physiotherapy (tomorrow) to exercise the finger.  As it heals, it will tend to tighten and shrink, and i may then have difficulty straightening the finger. Hence the need for physio.  Other than the finger, the bruises and abrasions sustained on my arms and body are healing well and i’m in less pain now (thank God).  Do covet your prayers for complete healing.

 

What precious lessons have I learnt from this incident?

 

1. yes, I should be more careful in future.  i should know better not to go to where it might be dangerous, especially when I’m so clumsy.

 

2. Romans 8:28 “And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.” God has a purpose for this incident; He makes no mistakes.  Perhaps I had been far too busy in the past few months travelling in my work, and God knew I needed a rest, and so He has ordered this enforced rest for a week.  I was able to catch up on my reading of Christian books.

 

3. More importantly, God has taught me not to take my life for granted.  I am a sinner, saved to serve Him.  That my life is indeed like water vapour, that appears for a little while and vanishes, evaporates away into thin air(James 4:14).   That I must work in the Lord’s vineyard while it is day, for the night comes when no man can work.  That I must not postpone or procrastinate in serving God, while I still have time and the energy.

 

May the Lord find us faithful,

may His Word be our banner held high.

May the Lord find us faithful,

every day though we live though we die.

 

“Only fear the Lord, and serve Him in truth with all your heart: for consider how great things he hath done for you.” (1 Samuel 12:24)

 

Praise the Lord!

 

gratefully yours in Christ, 

Dn Lee Hock Chin

26 Sep 2006

 

Leave a Reply

